Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a $25,000 motor vehicle dealer bond cost in New Hampshire?
The New Hampshire Department of Safety Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles requires auto dealers to post a surety bond to legally conduct work within the state. These bonds are subject to underwriting, which means the price you pay for your bond is based on a review of your personal credit report. For this particular New Hampshire car dealer bond, qualified applicants can expect to pay a minimum of $187.50.
Give us a call at 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond request now. Our experts will walk you through each step of our fast and easy bonding process!
What is the purpose of a New Hampshire auto dealer bond?
New Hampshire vehicle dealer bonds are put in place to ensure that vehicle dealers perform their obligations to purchasers or other parties who suffer a loss as defined by the New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated 261:98. Auto “dealers” are defined by Revised Statutes Annotated RSA 259.89A, RSA 259:6-a, RSA 261:123 and RSA 259:121.
Looking for information on getting a bonded title for a vehicle in New Hampshire? Visit our vehicle ownership title bond page to find out why these bonds are required, how much they cost, and how to get yours today.
How do I file my New Hampshire dealer license bond?
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or fill out our online bond request form to have our experts walk you through the process. What we do ask is that you provide the required items, which include:
- Legal name of entity/individual(s) buying the bond
- Physical address where the business will operate
- Type of dealer license the buyer is issued (New and/or Used, Motorcycle, Wholesale)
- The dealer license number (if applicable)
- Date the bond will be executed and its term length
From there, SuretyBonds.com will mail the completed bond form with the power of attorney to the New Hampshire Department of Safety. Overnight shipping is available. The principal (auto dealer) will then sign and file the dealer bond with the obligee.
Step-by-Step New Hampshire Auto Dealer License Guide
To apply for licensure as a motor vehicle dealer in New Hampshire, applicants must take the following steps:
Step 1: Complete the correct application for the desired license type.
There are many different types of licenses; New Hampshire requires dealers to acquire a license for their specific business structure. These include:
- Retail – Sells new and/or used motor vehicles to the public
- Wholesale – Sells motor vehicles to other licensed dealers only
- Motorcycle – Sells motorcycles to the public
**The steps below will outline the step-by-step process for the application for a retail license.
Step 2: Establish proof of your place of business.
Proof of establishment is another item required by the packet that applicants must submit for licensing.
Your establishment must have proof of:
- An enclosed structure of at least 750 square feet
- The business’s name on a 10-inch letter sign that is visible from a public street
- A permanent heating system
- Electrical outlets as stated in the state code
- A single business location that carries a registration certificate
- A business schedule indicating the business is open at least 37.5 hours per week during regular business hours
Step 3: Obtain written zoning approval.
This is to ensure a business is in compliance with zoning regulations. Dealers can inquire more about approval here.
Step 4: Purchase and file a $25,000 surety bond.
Follow the steps on this page to file your bond, or give us a call at 1 (800) 308-4358 to have our experts assist you with the process.
Step 5: Provide an approved original service agreement.
All dealerships in New Hampshire must provide a service agreement with a nearby garage or repair facility. If your business location does not have a designated inspection station already, submit an original service agreement with an approved inspector station.
Step 6: Complete an original criminal background check.
Dealers can request a background check from the New Hampshire Department of Safety here.
Note: Out-of-state applicants must submit both a New Hampshire background check and a background check from their home state.
Step 7: Pay the $125 application fee.
When submitting a retail dealer application, a prospective dealer must pay a fee of $125 and may be subject to additional fees pending approval. Additional fees depend on the number of dealer plates requested and authorized.
Step 8: Submit the application.
Submit your retail auto dealer license application or regulatory license renewal to:
New Hampshire Department of Safety
Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
Dealer Education Course All applicants who wish to be a licensed dealer in New Hampshire are required to finish a 95-minute training course after submitting an application. Register for the dealer training course here.
Note: Under the state of New Hampshire, licenses are to be renewed every two years.
Considerations for New Hampshire auto dealer bonds
New Hampshire vehicle dealer bonds remain valid for a one-year term, expiring on the date listed on the bond form. However, the bond can be continued year-to-year with a continuation certificate.
The surety can cancel the bond at any time by giving written cancellation notice to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles and the dealer 60 days prior to such cancellation.
Applicants should be prepared to disclose which types of vehicles they sell, as most surety underwriting companies require this information to produce these bonds.